Police Department

ETZLER-updateThe Police Department serves approximately 7,200 citizens. We handle between 700-800 calls for service each month. We are the second largest municipality in Carroll County. Keeping up with training and new technology is very important to the quality of service we provide to our citizens.

The Police Department has fourteen officers and two civilian personnel. These positions make up two squads in patrol, three administrative positions, an administrative assistant, and two crossing guards. We provide 24-hour service and have a dispatch available at our station Monday through Friday, 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM. After hours, the Maryland State Police dispatch the officers.

The Taneytown Police Department also supports Community Action Groups. These groups are made up of people who have great insight and truly care about the community they live in. Our Action Groups work alongside the police to solve problems in each of their own communities and we have seen great progress working with them.

Taneytown Police Department
120 E. Baltimore Street
Taneytown, MD 21787
Phone: (410) 751-1150
FAX: (410) 751-0755

LT. Jason Etzler

Maryland State Police (after 4:00 PM) (410) 386-3000

Current News & Projects